The bldg. itself was at one time Johnny the Barbers. The parking lot, facing north (23A) was the Lackey Building built in 1897. From the 1940s-1960s- it was “Olins Sweater Shop”, attracting shoppers from all around.
The Hunter Foundation purchased the iconic Smiley’s location in 2011 In 2014 construction began to renovate and upgrade the space creating a 12 seat dining area and a beautiful outdoor eating space.
Mama’s Boy Burgers opened in May of 2015 receiving rave reviews from locals, tourists, Food and Wine magazine, Escape Brooklyn and many more. Mama’s Boy Burgers is open 7 days a week.